Employee Experience

Windows 7 jumplist integration

One of the new features we added for Windows 7 in View 4.5 was jumplist integration for the View Client.  Although this shipped in View 4.0, it was disabled by default and needed to be enabled by GPO, so you probably never noticed it.  However, with View 4.5, it is enabled by default and provides helpful shortcuts to connect to recently used View Connection Servers or desktops.

If you are not familiar with jumplists, they are a new feature in Windows 7 that allow each application to list common tasks for a user to run.  To view an application's jumplist, you just left-click the arrow next to an item in the Start menu or right-click an application's icon in the taskbar.

Jumplist
Jumplist integration in the taskbar.

JumplistStart
Jumplist integration in the Start Menu.

The first piece of functionality the View Client provides in its jumplist is the ability to reconnect to recent View Connection Servers with the most recently used settings.  These settings include whether to use SSL, the port, and whether to log in as the current user.  So rather than having to launch the application, type the server name, and hit Connect, all you have to do here is to click one link on the jumplist!

But in my opinion the most helpful thing the jumplist provides is the ability to reconnect to a remote desktop with the most recently used settings.  If the View Client is not running, it will connect to the server that the desktop resides on with the settings used in the last connection (as described in the previous paragraph), then connect to the desktop with the most recently used protocol and display size.

If you use the "log in as current user" feature, you are now able to launch a desktop with one click!  All you need to do is click the jumplist item for a recent remote desktop and it will connect to the View Connection Server, authenticate as the current user, and launch the desktop.  That makes accessing your desktops much easier.

And finally, if you want to disable this functionality, set the EnableJumplist GPO to "off".  The next time you run the View Client with this GPO set to "off", Windows will clear the jumplist and the user won't see any indication of the jumplists for the View Client.  However, the View Client's registry values that store the server and desktop info will still exist in case the EnableJumplist GPO is ever set to "on".  If you also want to delete these registry values, they are in the "HKCU\Software\VMware, Inc.\VMware VDM\Client" key in "MRBrokerJumpList" and "MRDesktopJumpList".

Related Articles