One of the observed features of Instant clone pools is that when a VM is logged off it deletes the VM so that any changes are gone. This makes troubleshooting tricky and you cannot set the do not delete at refresh like you can with Full VM and Linked Clones.
What is a View admin to do? Thanks to the folks at VMware GSS we have an option, with a caveat.
You can go into the Adam Database through ADSIEDIT and change a setting so that the VM’s do not delete, allowing you to logoff and reboot them while retaining the VM’s settings.
The caveat* is that when you change this setting you cannot edit the provisioning details or other attributes of this pool. You will have to change it back to ‘deleteonuse’ in the ADAM ADSIEDIT before you can make changes.